A Reflection of My Learning Journey

UOSM2008 has been an absolute pleasure to take part in and has given me the opportunity to expand my knowledge and share and assess work with my peers at an academic level. The online aspect of this module is current and is proof that education can and will adapt to the ever-increasing dependency of the internet – exciting times are ahead! To show just how much progression I have made via working on the web, I will be looking back at the self-test that I completed right at the beginning of this module, as well as my fortnightly posts.

So, let’s throw it back to one of the first questions posed in this module:

What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

‘I chose this module with the hope that it equips me with the skills to be able to create a professional but personable online profile, as well as provide me with knowledge about living and working on the web such as implications of online posts, freedom of access and certain actions that I didn’t already know.’

And that it did! This infograph explores the key aspects learnt in this process and how it has impacted my studies and views:

new-piktochart_22717688_9ff154f2224993d943a83ec8e7be29f967a1cbbd

DEVELOPMENT OF MY ONLINE SKILLS:

Having explored what the five topics have taught me, I’m going to re-test myself and compare my initial test to my knowledge now.

As you can see there has been great improvements made, I am far more confident on the web and as a digital resident (See I did learn something!), this is highly important for my future and the development of my professional online presence.

THE BIRTH OF MY PROFESSIONAL ONLINE PROFILE:

Before this module, I thought I knew everything there was to know about the web and how to effectively use it for job seeking purposes – but I was SO wrong. Topic three opened my eyes to how important it is to maintain a professional online profile, in particular, having an impressive and presentable Linked-in account.

Previously, my linked-in was dull and unrepresentative of me and my skills. I didn’t bother with a display picture and quite frankly my profile was lack-lustre, uninviting and sub-standard.

Having understood the importance of linked-in when job seeking, I have actively attempted to improve my profile, using the steps I created here.

Linked in before
Before
new-piktochart_22708838_95599e4c28b472b42de2b32d9219d44c57955572
After

These changes have seen instant success through a growth in connections and messages regarding employment perspectives.

I have also taken steps to engage in conversation with academics on social media, thanking them for their work and even having my own work acknowledged by internal and external scholars.

Without UOSM2008, I wouldn’t have even considered this useful form of academic interaction.

THE FUTURE

Although this course is sadly concluding, the lessons learnt mean that my progression on living and working on the web is only getting started! This video will show you how I aim to continue this journey.

It has been a pleasure UOSM2008, thank you all.

Faazila.

Word count: 495

References:

Cornu, A. and White, D. (2012). Visitors and residents: A new typology for online engagement. First Monday, [online] 16(9). Available at: http://firstmonday.org/article/view/3171/3049%20https://comminfo.rutgers.edu/%7Etefko/Courses/Zadar/Readings/Selwyn%20dig%20natives,%20Aslib%20Proceedings%202009.pdf [Accessed 10 May. 2017].

Electric Frontier Foundation (2017). Open Access. [online] Electronic Frontier Foundation. Available at: https://www.eff.org/issues/open-access [Accessed 10 May 2017].

Jobvite (2014). 2014 Survey: Social Recruiting. [online] Available at: https://www.jobvite.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Jobvite_SocialRecruiting_Survey2014.pdf [Accessed 9 May. 2017].

UN, I. (2017). Statistics. [online] Available at: http://www.itu.int/en/ITU-D/Statistics/Pages/stat/default.aspx [Accessed 10 May. 2017].

White, D. (2011). Visitors and Residents. [online] Available at: http://daveowhite.com/vandr/ [Accessed 10 May. 2017].

 

A Reflection of My Learning Journey

Leave a Reply

