Topic Three – Reflection

When I first started my reading for this fortnight’s post, I presumed it would be rather simple. We are the digital age after all, we know everything there is to know about the web and creating a professional profile – everything is fine and dandy, right?

Well… no. 

Whilst I was halfway in to my research, I found Branham and Farrar’s blog post, and this is where it really hit me; we really do ‘think less and less about what we write online’. We as the digital generation are so dependent on social media as a tool for communication, that we forget these online actions are not limited to our social groups, and can in fact be seen by everyone – including our future employers.

At first, I was convinced that employers ‘vetting’ our social profile was a breach of privacy; that we had to limit our thoughts and opinions out of fear that it would come back to harm our employment prospects. However, having read Cherie’s post, most notably her pros and cons list, I realised that my view was rather cynical. We should use our online profiles to enhance our credibility, and give employers a flavour of who we are. Mary’s comment on my post also helpfully brought to my attention the advice from Chris Smith (2017).  Smith sheds light on how we can maintain control of our content through privacy settings. I found this especially helpful, not because I wasn’t aware of these settings (as seen below); but that these settings can be used in our favour to maintain control over our ‘personal brand’.

Privacy settings copy

As a marketing student, I shouldn’t be afraid of such of a platform to shine! Carolina’s post really cemented this idea; having an authentic professional online profile will allow me to strengthen my own brand and differentiate myself.

Considering the interaction with my peers’ posts, I have created a new checklist which include additional steps that were not included in my original ‘step by step’ guide. This will help me further improve on my own authentic professional profile:

new-piktochart_21100854_6585b51bcf0c8ea34b4cca459b47b9c25e4f75bf

Who knew developing an authentic professional online profile could be so intricate?!

Word Count: 353

My comments can be found here:

https://carolinaocampo.wordpress.com/2017/03/12/linkedwin-developing-your-online-profile/comment-page-1/#comment-26 

https://cherieknightblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/12/discuss-the-ways-in-which-an-authentic-online-professional-profile-can-be-developed/#comments

References:

Facebook, (2017). Facebook Privacy Settings. Available at: https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=privacy [Accessed 18 Mar. 2017].

Farrar, D. and Branham, C. (2017). Negotiating Virtual Spaces: Public Writing. Available at: http://writingcommons.org/negotiating-virtual-spaces-public-writing [Accessed 9 Mar. 2017].

Knight, C. (2017). Discuss the ways in which an authentic online professional profile can be developed…. Available at: https://cherieknightblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/12/discuss-the-ways-in-which-an-authentic-online-professional-profile-can-be-developed/ [Accessed 15 Mar. 2017].

Poveda-Ocampo, C. (2017). LinkedWin: Developing your online profile. Available at: https://carolinaocampo.wordpress.com/2017/03/12/linkedwin-developing-your-online-profile/ [Accessed 15 Mar. 2017].

Smith, C. (2017). Facebook Privacy Settings: A complete guide to keeping control. Available at: http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinions/facebook-privacy-settings-protecting-what-you-care-about [Accessed 16 Mar. 2017].

Topic Three – Reflection

Leave a Reply

