Topic Two – Reflection

Having got the trial run out of the way with Topic One, there was much to improve when addressing Topic Two.  After analysing the marking criteria and engaging with other blog posts, I realised that my first post especially lackedpicture1 the presence of visual elements; this was an area I was determined improve. I saw that many of my peers used ‘Piktochart’ to create infographs so I attempted to make some of my own for my second post. The website was rather easy to use, I quickly and effectively created some informative visual media that helped to get around our limited word count. I will be using this again in my future posts, but having seen Sharon’s nifty use of Photoshop, I aim to explore with other creative sites too.

I also realised that my first post lacked a range of original sources. However, I found this week’s topic to be incredibly interesting, I must admit I was surprised how engaged I became with the research! Identity is a vastly discussed topic, so I was able to take a sociological approach, focussing particularly on Postmodern Ideas to discuss the arguments for having multiple online identities. This slant on the task helped me to think outside of the box and achieve a rich range of sources, differing from other people’s posts.

I really appreciated Mary’s addition of her personal experience with internet fraudsters, it certainly provided strength to her argument and led me to research further. Now knowing the severity of online crimes enabled by the access to multiple online identities – nearly 6 million cases in the UK in 2015 (BBC, 2016), I’d have given this more attention in my own piece.

Over the past week, I have found myself referring to this topic in everyday conversation, I hope that the next topic is just as relevant and interesting.

Word count: 308

Sources:

BBC (2016) Nearly six million fraud and cyber crimes last year, ONS says. Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-36854413 (Accessed: 4 March 2017).

Buergin, S. (2017) Topic 2: Discuss the arguments for and against having more than one online identity. Available at: https://sharonbuergin.wordpress.com/2017/02/26/topic-2-discuss-the-arguments-for-and-against-having-more-than-one-online-identity/ (Accessed: 4 March 2017).

Schofield, M. (2017) Topic 2 – is there a benefit to having multiple digital identities? Available at: https://maryschofield.wordpress.com/2017/02/26/topic-2-is-there-a-benefit-to-having-multiple-digital-identities/#comments (Accessed: 4 March 2017).

Topic Two – Reflection

Leave a Reply

