Topic One – Reflection

When choosing this module, I was unsure what I was getting myself in to. The terms ‘flexible learning style’ and ‘all on the web’ instantly appealed to me; I am after all a digital ‘native’ thus learning online seemed easy and natural. However, I had no idea how much work I was going to need to put in and how challenging this module would be; so much so, that setting up my blog was enough to push me out of my comfort zone! At that moment, I suddenly I realised that this module is going to be harder than I thought.

Once I had finally set up my blog, I got stuck in to my very first blog post. I realised that not only was I going to need to do a lot more reading than I anticipated, but also realised that this reading was going to be interesting than I first thought. For the first time in a while, I felt in control of my own education and was actually stimulated to learn more. As well as this, the topic task at hand forced me to draw upon my own online experience, I felt like this really allowed me to acknowledge the relevance of these typologies in real life, which really helped me to appreciate Prensky and White and Cornu’s views.

I found sticking to a low word count especially hard. Having done all this reading and engaging with the topic on a personal level, it was incredibly difficult to limit my words. This difficulty is certainly something that I will continue to battle with throughout the course; but I believe it is helping me to maintain consistent and concise. I also found that the limitation on word count made reading my peers work easier, and helped to keep me engaged to be able to provide constructive feedback. Eloane’s blog post really highlighted the fact that clearly sectioning your work using subtitles can further help consistent clarity.

Finally, receiving feedback, engaging in discussions, and extra questioning from Raziya has helped me to critically analyse my own work; which is a skill which I hope will improve my writing for the next blog post!

My comments can be seen via:

https://eloanerochasemedo.wordpress.com/2017/02/09/the-concept-of-digital-visitors-and-digital-residents/#comment-4

https://mecsoton.wordpress.com/2017/02/09/topic-1-digital-residents-and-digital-visitors/

Topic One – Reflection

Leave a Reply

