Introduction and Self Assessment

Hello, My name is Faazila Ashraf, and I am a second year Marketing student at the University of Southampton. I have created this blog to track my progress with the UOSM2008 ‘Living and Working on the Web’ module. I’m excited to explore different topics and improve my blogging capabilities in the process.

Below I have completed a self assessment which scores my experience in various online aspects from 1-5; 1 meaning I have no experience, and 5 meaning that I am proficient. I aim to complete another self assessment at the end of the module to measure my progression.

Rating at start of module Comments Rating at end of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information

 

4 As a university student, I am constantly assessing and evaluating the credibility of sources online.
Participating in online communities

 

 

2 For someone who is glued to their phone, I am surprisingly not part of many communities online.

This is an area that I particularly want to improve on.

Building online networks around an area of interest

 

 

2 As I am already on some social media platforms, with practice, guidance and motivation I could easily improve this, however I lack the confidence and knowledge on how to create a personable but professional network.
Collaborating with others on shared projects

 

 

4 I collaborate with others on shared projects in all aspects of my everyday life, whether that be at my part-time job, at home or at University.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video)

 

 

1 Other than informal twitter and Facebook posts I have never created rich online material. In fact, I have never had a blog before, so this is definitely a new experience.

Managing your online identity

 

 

3 I believe that anything that I make publicly accessible is professional or at least does not tarnish my reputation. I keep my personal accounts private.
Managing your online privacy and security

 

 

4 I ensure that I maintain the highest of security and privacy settings. I believe I’m rather experienced in managing this aspect.

 

Q1) Why did you choose the module?

We are constantly reminded about the growing importance of the web; whether that be for a company or for an individual; thus I chose this module to provide me with insight to living and working on the web. I also chose this module for the challenge and stimulation – it offers a unique delivery which I am intrigued to experience.

Q2) What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

I hope that this module equips me with the skills to be able to create a professional but personable online profile, as well as provide me with new knowledge about living and working on the web such as implications of online posts and privacy issues.

Q3) Which degree programme are you studying?

I am currently studying Marketing.

Q4) Have you studied online before?

I have engaged in online research, and have watched youtube tutorials before, but I have never completed an online course such as this one before.

Introduction and Self Assessment

Leave a Reply

